It’s Christmas

Merry Christmas good people! This is my favorite time of year! Christmas time is the best time, hands down. This time last year, I was preparing to take the GRE and finishing up my application for my internship (which I am ace-ing  btw, praise the Lord!).  Also, I was terribly sick and let me tell you, taking a computer-based standardized test with a head cold is no bowl of grapes.

Anyway, enough about that; let’s get into the nitty-gritty of this post.  Get ready to smile.

This Year and Beyond…

I can say with confident faith that I am working out the plan that the Lord has given to me.  Honestly, it feels great to say that. I am moving forward in the process of perfection and that’s a good thing.  Please don’t misunderstand– I don’t intend to sound arrogant or prideful, but you need to know that your words either carry faith or fear.  You must learn to confidently speak faith statements with boldness regardless of your current perception of yourself, your ability (or lack thereof), or past mistakes.  You have to speak your destination before you get there.  The choice is yours.  Furthermore, learn how to celebrate yourself.  When others around you (especially those who you consider closest to you) refuse to give you that well-deserved pat on the back; give it to yourself.  Or, better yet, believe the Lord to surround you with people who will give you that pat on the back when you need it.  Trust and believe, He will do just that; He’s done it for me.

I suppose it’s the sense of completion that accompanies the end of the year which causes us to take an inventory of ourselves.  To do so is perfectly fine and good; however, don’t paint yourself into the proverbial corner with a brush dipped in comparison.  As long as your rubric of success and value is drafted according to your perception of those around you, you will always be disappointed, sad, and even discouraged.

Believe it or not, we all decide what we want others to see.  I don’t know anyone that excitedly runs to the phone to call 50 people to yak about their latest epic failure nor can I think of anyone who chooses to fill their twitter feed or Facebook profile with tweets and posts about their deepest fears and shortcomings.  We each have our own brag box filled with successes and triumphs.  Usually, that is what we willingly share with others.  I can almost guarantee you that for every 10 brag boxes on the living room coffee table, there is at least one old, busted, dilapidated, shoebox shoved in the back of a closet somewhere filled with our past heartaches and disappointments and most of the time, we avoid showcasing it when company stops by.

Moving Forward

With all of that being said, this Christmas, let us take time to enjoy this holiday for what it really is; a celebration of the birth of our Savior Jesus Christ.  Take time to refocus and clear your vision for the budding new year.  Start some new traditions! Whether you are by yourself or with family, remember you are never alone.

Get excited about your future, it looks awesome! I love you all; Merry Christmas!

1387931373780

Leave a Reply

