New Year, Really?

GM Monday.

Is 2013 timing up? Technically, yes. Usually at this time of year, we start taking inventory of ourselves and whip out the Steno pad to list what we resolve to do more or less of. have you ever wondered why we do this year after year? Is it fruitful? Does it really matter? “Is it working for you”? Hmm, let’s get into this. 

Where are You?

Social media is so prominent in our culture. When coupled with our willingness to literally share every thought, opinion, and preference, I’ll bet you could look back and find your posts and tweets from December 2012.
If you can, compare them to what you were about to jot down. Are you still on the hamster wheel of good intentions that vow to be healthier, more available, more generous/less stingy, etc? Do yourself a favor, dear ones, stop running in place and break out of the cycle that over promises and under delivers. Be cautious with what you vow to do.

Are You in the Same Place?

Take some time to locate yourself. I mean, really, really look. I’ll bet you have made progress in certain areas of your life. Progress is black and white–it’s either there or it’s not. Regardless of how much there is, praise God for that morsel of consistency that you didn’t have last year. Thank Him for helping you to maintain the deliverance you have freely received and the grace to continue to grow.

No Resolutions Now What?!

Okay, since I’ve jerked the security blanket of good intentions from you, allow me to replace it with the Comforter that can actually keep you warm. Don’t lose your vision to want to do better.  It’s good that you don’t want to stay where you are. However, why don’t we do something different? Let’s choose to look for the Lord’s guidance regarding the areas of our life that displease us and really believe that He will guide you clearly. More than likely, those particular areas displease Him too; let Him work on those areas. Let’s allow the Word of God to seep in to our spirit and change us from the inside out.

God doesn’t measure eternity in years; so with the new year coming up, keep moving forward. Time is not up yet, keep working on your test.

Proverbs 8:8-36 NLT

My advice is wholesome. There is nothing devious or crooked in it. My words are plain to anyone with understanding, clear to those with knowledge. Choose my instruction rather than silver, and knowledge rather than pure gold. For wisdom is far more valuable than rubies. Nothing you desire can compare with it. “I, Wisdom, live together with good judgment. I know where to discover knowledge and discernment. All who fear the L ord will hate evil. Therefore, I hate pride and arrogance, corruption and perverse speech. Common sense and success belong to me. Insight and strength are mine. Because of me, kings reign, and rulers make just decrees. Rulers lead with my help, and nobles make righteous judgments. “I love all who love me. Those who search will surely find me. I have riches and honor, as well as enduring wealth and justice. My gifts are better than gold, even the purest gold, my wages better than sterling silver! I walk in righteousness, in paths of justice. Those who love me inherit wealth. I will fill their treasuries. “The L ord formed me from the beginning, before he created anything else. I was appointed in ages past, at the very first, before the earth began. I was born before the oceans were created, before the springs bubbled forth their waters. Before the mountains were formed, before the hills, I was born— before he had made the earth and fields and the first handfuls of soil. I was there when he established the heavens, when he drew the horizon on the oceans. I was there when he set the clouds above, when he established springs deep in the earth. I was there when he set the limits of the seas, so they would not spread beyond their boundaries. And when he marked off the earth’s foundations, I was the architect at his side. I was his constant delight, rejoicing always in his presence. And how happy I was with the world he created; how I rejoiced with the human family! “And so, my children, listen to me, for all who follow my ways are joyful. Listen to my instruction and be wise. Don’t ignore it. Joyful are those who listen to me, watching for me daily at my gates, waiting for me outside my home! For whoever finds me finds life and receives favor from the L ord . But those who miss me injure themselves. All who hate me love death.”

~KP

Leave a Reply

